Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Problems with Com Port

1. Default Problems with Com Port

Hello gang

I wonder if you can help me. I am trying to use editor for the first time and create a simple programme going from 14-42hz.

I downloaded editor and created a couple of segments. However when i click 'run segment' it comesup with 'the serial port is not open. do you want to open it?' I click yes and it comes up with the same. I have tried both available ports Com 1 and 3 in the editor but it asks the same question and nothng runs through my procyon.

Any ideas? I think my USB connection isn't set up properly with the Procyon but not sure why tbh.

Knowing me its probably something silly, im not good with all this techie stuff!

Thanks, Jamie

2. Default Re: Problems with Com Port

I should add that when I connect the procyon USB to my pc rather than make one beep it makes two, and is not listed on my pc. In other words, it doesn't appear to register or know the Procyon is connected.

Default Re: Problems with Com Port

Hi Jamie,

The Procyon is quite fussy about how its drivers are installed.

My suggestion at this stage would be that you uninstall whatever you've installed, including using control panel to remove the drivers, then follow the installation instructions absolutely exactly, particularly the part about loading the drivers before plugging in the Procyon.

If you're using Vista, you'll see a post up in the pinned section that explains all.

Also note that there are two versions of the Procyon using different drivers - very important!

If all that fails, give another yell and I'm sure Andy will come to your rescue

Cheers,
    Craig

4. Default Re: Problems with Com Port

Craig

Thanks for your help. I have removed the drivers and will start again, tomorrow now, its late here. Thanks for your help

Cheers, Jamie

I am also having similar problems.