Thread: Help needed for SyncrhoMuse / CODEC install

Question Help needed for SyncrhoMuse / CODEC install

Greetings,

I am new to the Procyon (rx today) and have installed the USB drivers and the editor software without problems. Also, the firmware has been upgraded to 2.1.4.4. Everything seems to be working fine with my Procyon but I'm stumped as to how to utilize the digital audio interface/CODEC of the unit (for DAS/SynchroMuse?) under Vista OS.

I have a terrific headphone amplifier (HeadRoom Desktop Portable with DAC) that can interface with my PC as an audio CODEC and I was thinking that the same thing would happen with the Procyon. However, no matter what I do (and I'm very computer savvy) I don't get a CODEC installation so that I can use the DAS feature.

For AudioStrobe adjustment, I can put the Procyon on AS and adjust the levels, etc., via the Procyon AVS editor (way cool), but alas I don't have independent control of all three channels.

When I'm in DAS mode, I have no response from any audio input (via USB or Aux.) and the Procyon editor doesn't have any special features for DAS control.

Is there an explanation of getting the digital audio interface to work under Vista and/or further information on using the SyncrhoMuse feature so that I can listen to a CD on my laptop, for example, and flash all three light channels in time with an AVS program?

Thanks for your help; loving the Procyon so far...

--Scott

Blog Entries

Default Re: Help needed for SyncrhoMuse / CODEC install

Hi Scott and welcome!

DAS is the mode the Procyon is set to for working with Syncho-Muse encoded music that you create yourself. It essentially consists of a music file with a header which tells the Procyon which session to play while the music is playing. You would typically create a custom session for the Procyon that has changes that are timed to various changes in the music.

There's a tutorial and example on the support site: http://www.mindplacesupport.com/Procyon.htm