Thread: Procyon or not?

1. Default Procyon or not?

I'm really debating on whether or not to buy a Procyon. I have a Proteus (and a Thoughtstream, as well as the old PC-Synergizer), and really like the newer features of the Procyon, but the whole AudioStrobe/SyncroMuse controversy really gives me pause. I used to be an "early adapter" of new technology, but have been burned many times by buying really cool new computer stuff that turned into a deadend.
    Another thing is that I just bought Mind Workstation -- although frankly, I'm really, really amazed that I did it -- it is literally the very first windoze software I've ever, ever paid a cent for, and I've been running computers since 1988. It's just that I find wndoze so utterly revolting, and despise it so much that it's really annoying for me to use it even in a vmware or bochs or wine session just to use the few utilities like the Proteus editor that I have to use. In my mind, linux rules, Macs are great, especially with OS X, and windoze --- uggghhhh!
    But anyway, I bought Mind Workstation, because I became convinced that I could do some really cool things with it. So now I'm really wondering if it will be very useful with the Procyon, and -- given what some are finding to be limitation with the Procyon, whether that machine might be just a deadend, or headed for some serious changes that would make me wish I'd waited awhile to buy it.
    I guess also I'm really wondering just how much can be done with AudioStrobe -- the only experience I've had with it was just the one sampler CD that came with my Proteus, and I'm really not impressed with that. SycroMuse sounds like it has a lot more potential, but I agree with what another poster said -- if you can't compress it and use it with something other than a CD, I have to wonder if it's going very far.