Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Meditation and AVS

Blog Entries

Default Meditation and AVS

Hi Bob,

Quote Originally Posted by Bob
    Hi Marisa,
    I signed up and read through the forums. You've put in large amounts of effort to support users and to provoke discussion so I thought it relevant to give some views for your perusal. I'm new to machine based introspection but have a lengthy traditional background based on Yoga and martial arts training. Please feel free to critique my comment in publicspace
    I can certainly appreciate the dedication and skill levels one attains through both yoga and martial arts.

If you want to take any of this conversation over to the forum so that others can benefit from it, just start a topic there. It's okay if it's repetitive from what we have or may discuss.

Two specific topics that you raised struck home:
    -) Profound experience from meditation
    -) Attention focus during work and study
    soooo... item 1 -)
    You state that meditation occurs in the theta domain (with some beta and/or alpha presence to promote conscious awareness) . My personal view is that the profound silence -- with subtle but very shifted perception occurs in the delta region. (Dumping yourself into dreamland would appear to lead to a very busy conscious mind...)
    Perhaps a low Theta borderline Delta would be closest to this state. The farther you go into Delta, the further you go into unconsciousness. By the time you are at 2 -3 Hz, you are pretty much asleep (which in a sense is profound silence but I doubt that is not what you are talking about).

I will take a look through my literature and see if I can find some more information for you. I vaguely recall that there were some studies done on brain states and meditation. Unfortunately at the moment, I don't remember what the studies concluded or if their conclusions are relevant to our conversation.

Here is my present solution: