Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Repairing mind machines

  1. Default Repairing mind machines

    Hello everyone

    I think I know the likely answer to this question, but I might as well ask. I am only an occasional user of these machines. I have a Proteus and an even older Orion bought from a company called LifeTools many years ago. They have always been reliable. Today I thought I would the Proteus again. It refused to switch on. I changed the batteries and still no luck. Orion the same. Usually the program number comes up in the display, but today nothing. Conversely, a Thoughtstream which has seen even less use started up no problem at all.

    It may well be that the old batteries have caused damage by being left in the machines, although both battery compartments are clean, with no sign of corrosion. I even tested with my multimeter to check the full voltage across the three batteries; nothing wrong there, but neither machine will display anything. Have I missed something obvious? If not - is there anywhere that is willing to repair these units?

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,817
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Repairing mind machines

    Hello!

    I assume you don't have the AC adapter for your Proteus? If so, try that and see if it powers on. That would tell you if the problem is a battery or connection issue at least.

    You're welcome to send the devices to MindPlace for evaluation, there's no charge. However, since neither of those products are made anymore, if they can't be repaired, you would likely have to purchase a new or refurbished product to replace them. Like a Procyon or Limina.

    Another option would be to look on eBay for a deal on a used device. Just make sure they guarantee that it's in working condition.
    -Andy.

    Hey, if someone makes a good post, don't forget to click at the bottom of their post to add to their reputation!

  3. Default Re: Repairing mind machines

    Sorry to be so late in replying to your helpful post. I've never had an AC adaptor for the Proteus. Does it need to be an adaptor specific to Proteus or would a standard item of the correct voltage and ampage be OK? And where on the Proteus would in connect?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,817
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Repairing mind machines

    You can use a universal if you can't find the exact one. See here for details:
    http://mindplacesupport.com/forum/showthread.php?371-Proteus-AC-Adapter
    -Andy.

    Hey, if someone makes a good post, don't forget to click at the bottom of their post to add to their reputation!

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. My experience with mind machines from Mindplace
    By Latino2018 in forum Kasina & Limina
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-27-2018, 08:36 PM
  2. Difference between Kasina and other mind machines
    By scienceofempty in forum Kasina & Limina
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-25-2017, 01:17 AM
  3. Tinnitus and Mind machines
    By Addepat in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2017, 07:21 AM
  4. Hypnotherapists and Mind Machines
    By ivorm in forum General Forum
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-26-2015, 12:26 PM
  5. Do Mind machines work for everyone
    By Ken in forum General Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-10-2012, 04:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •