Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Recommendations on maintaining precise SpectraStrobe control for given audio content?

1. Default Recommendations on maintaining precise SpectraStrobe control for given audio content?

Hey all,

New Kasina owner/user here. FWIW I'm an experienced media/lighting/electronics engineer. I purchased the Kasina with a specific interest in creating my own music with SpectraStrobe component, as well as experiencing what others have achieved.

Creating my own has been a little challenging, as a lot of the software instructions seem to be somewhat out-of-date, but I managed to reverse engineer things to an acceptable level, and I've now moved into the stage of attempting to create content.

Here's the challenge I'm running into: I'm used to working with, and designing, audio/visual systems that give me complete control of all of the various signal chains (in their own lanes, so-to-speak). I understand the cleverness and convenience of encoding the LED controls into the frequency space of the audio content, but I'm finding that it is very unstable, not very precise, and full of "noise". For example, I setup a sample project that has the all of the SpectraStrobe tones, 18.2khz reference, with square wave LFO panning hard right/left @ 20hz, and then color tones at 18.7khz/19.2khz/19.7khz. The suggested tone level for best dynamics and headroom using the Audacity plug-ins seems to be about -39.483 db according to my calculations. When I run this project through the Kasina, all works as expected, it's detected as a SpectraStrobe signal and if I vary the volume of the color tones, the LEDs adjust output accordingly. Sweet!