Thread: Vista support? Other questions...

1. Default Vista support? Other questions...

I'm trying to make a decision between the Proteus and Procyon. I'm by no means a financially rich person, and I am most interested in the Proteus since it's about $75 less. But in the interest of making the most informed decision possible, I have a few questions:

1. Will the Proteus work with Vista? As in, do the drivers work in Vista so I can transfer new programs to it? I'm assuming the Procyon will, since it's USB and should therefore be plug and play--please correct me if I'm mistaken.

2. I'm beginning my personal spiritual journey and--as a computer programmer by trade--love the idea of using machines to accelerate human evolution. My theory is that through use of your machines at first and (as money permits) a bio-feedback system later, I can "learn" to set my brain at the necessary frequencies with no assistance. That said, I'm most interested in achieving the Shamanic meditative states...which machine will be most beneficial to my pursuits? I've noted that there seems to be far more user-generated programs for the Proteus than the Procyon, some of which seem to fit right in with my Theta/low-Alpha desires.

3. This is just a question for fun: which machine produces the best visual imagery? I'm assuming it's the Procyon, since it's got a significantly broader color range, but if similar results can be achieved with the Proteus...well, like I implied--I'm broke.

4. Please be frank. How effective are the machines? I have seen how effective bio-feedback systems can be on friends of mine, but I can't afford both right now. I am more interested in the machine first because my wife can't sleep--even most prescription narcotic medications fail to get her to sleep. That's why I want to buy it first--the hope that it will help her sleep as well as help me achieve my desired mind-states.