Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Creating Spectrastrobe signal using Kyma software.

1. Question Creating Spectrastrobe signal using Kyma software.

I'm a professional sound designer and I'm loving my new Kasina! And some of the included sessions have some stunning sound design, great job Neuroasis & Craig Tice! I'm lucky to have a Kyma system and I'd like to generate Spectrastrobe signals using it. I sent the Kasina sine waves at the appropriate frequencies but all I get is all LEDs flashing. I was expecting to be able to light the LEDs individually. Playing mixed Spectrastrobe sessions from a headphone out on my soundcard works fine so I believe I'm setup correctly. What do I need to send to Kasina?
    Thanks!
    Doug
    difrancopro.com

Blog Entries

Default Re: Creating Spectrastrobe signal using Kyma software.

Hi Doug,
    What you are most likely seeing is the Kasina recognizing your signals as AudioStrobe and applying the first ColorSet which is all light channels. In addition to the light channel tones, SpectraStrobe requires a reference track. This track consists of a 18.2khz sine wave that is modulated with a pulse wave at 10hz. In addition the modulation is 180 degress out of phase between the channels.

The easiest way to create the reference is to modulate an 18.2khz sine wave with an autopan LFO set to 20hz, with the waveform being either a sine or smoothed square.

The reference signal acts as an identifier, as the Kasina performs auto-sensing between SS and AS. You will notice the top line of text on the display on the Kasina change to indicate when SpectraStrobe is recognized. The reference track also sets the dynamic range of the signal in a ratio of 4:1. That way, if the user changes the volume of the source (on an AUX for instance) the full range of brightness is still delivered.