Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,716
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    *NOTE* This is only possible for REV2 Procyons (purchased before December 2010).
    If you have a REV1 Procyon, this will not work. There is NO Win7 x64 driver that will work properly with the REV1 Procyon.

    If your Procyon has a TRRS (headphone-style) GanzFrame connector, you have a REV3 Procyon and you do not need to "force" the driver.

    HOW TO TELL WHICH TYPE OF PROCYON YOU HAVE:
    If the console flashes 1.x.x (where x is some number) when you power it on, you have a Rev1 console.
    If the console flashes 2.x.x (where x is some number) when you power it on, you have a Rev2 or Rev3 console. The Rev2 console has a rectangular socket on the top for the Ganzframes, the Rev3 console has a round socket.


    It's a Christmas Miracle!

    Seems the latest SiLabs (Rev2 Procyon) Driver for Win7 actually works on Win7 x64!
    (At least on my setup, anyway...)

    So, here's a little "how to" for installing it. Let me know if you get it working too, or you have any difficulties.

    The screenshots should be fairly self-descriptive, so let me know if something doesn't make sense. I've highlighted the button to click and/or the important stuff in yellow. Paths and folders on your PC will of course be different.

    The SiLabs Win7 Driver is here:
    http://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/P...CPDrivers.aspx
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Andy; 12-21-2010 at 09:05 PM. Reason: Change web site pic

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,716
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    Installation Cont'd...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,716
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    Ok, so at the end, you can see that when you plug in the Procyon, there's an error shown in Device Manager. The driver does not recognize the Procyon.

    Here is a little video showing how to "force" the driver to see the Procyon.
    The context menus are all from right-clicking the menu items, like the 1st one, right-clicking on "Computer" and left-clicking "Manage".

    This will be easy for experienced computer users. We will work on making the install easier in the future.

    Click on this link to watch the little video.
    http://www.mindplacesupport.com/foru...stall.swf.html

    (Firefox users try this link: http://www.mindplacesupport.com/foru...%20Install.swf)

    (You will need Adobe flash installed on your computer to watch this video. Get a copy here: http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/)

    Here are the steps, but the video is easier to follow:
    1. Click on the windows icon to bring up the Start Menu
    2. Right-Click on Computer
    3. Click on Manage
    4. Click on Device Manager
    5. Right-Click on Silicon Labs CP210x USB to UART Bridge (COMx)
    6. Click on Update Driver Software...
    7. Click on Browse my computer for driver software on the "Update Driver Software" Window
    8. Click on Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer on the next Window
    9. Click on Have Disk... on the "Select the device driver..." Window
    10. Click on Browse... on the "Install from Disk" Window
    11. Browse to Program Files (x86)\Silabs\MCU\CP210x (or wherever the drivers were installed) on the "Locate File" Window
    12. Click on slabvcp.inf
    13. Click Ok
    14. Click Ok on the "Install from Disk" Window
    15. Click Next on the "Select the device driver..." Window
    16. Click Yes at "Update Driver Warning" message
    17. Click Close when driver update completed.

    At that point the yellow exclamation mark should be gone.


    -Andy.
    Last edited by Andy; 08-24-2010 at 08:47 PM. Reason: Added text version of the steps

  4. #4

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    Would this driver kit or the other kit listed in the SiLabs site work on Vista 64bit.

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,716
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    Quote Originally Posted by Charles M View Post
    Would this driver kit or the other kit listed in the SiLabs site work on Vista 64bit.

    Thanks
    No idea. I never had any luck with Vista x64, but if you find a Vista x64 driver on the SiLabs site, download it and give it a try. You'll have to "force" it just like the other one.

    Let us know if you have any luck.

    -Andy.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    Quote Originally Posted by Andy View Post
    Let me know if you get it working too, or you have any difficulties.
    It's working for me (win 7 x64). Thanks.

    Ron

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    3,716
    Blog Entries
    3

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    Quote Originally Posted by RonF View Post
    It's working for me (win 7 x64). Thanks.

    Ron
    Excellent!

  8. #8

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    Got the Procyon drivers to work from the link in the top post (Windows 7 x64 Professional).

    Thanks a lot!

    --Scott

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Otaki Beach, New Zealand
    Posts
    437

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    Hi Andy,

    Finally got around to setting up the Procyon on Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit.

    Didn't quite happen the way it did for you, but near enough. I had earlier drivers hanging around creating problems - removed, all good now!

    The link to the video works fine from here.

    Cheers,
    Craig

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Southampton UK
    Posts
    12

    Default Re: Procyon Rev2 Win7 x64 Driver Install

    I've just installed this on a quadcore Vista 64bit setup(it does appear to use all four). Did this by downloading from the web to the target machine not running the install remotely.
    -) It installs the app and USB driver for Procyon hw v2 (not tried v1) and asks the usual annoying vista things. Takes awhile....
    -) Starting the app takes unbelievable time like anything else on Vista but it does get there.
    -) Setting com port. You get a choice of two. Several seconds later you get four. None of these worked so rebooted (may have been unnecessary).
    Then found if you wait around 15 seconds or so it finds more Com ports and if you pick the right one then all is fine. If you only select the 'Open Com Port' menu option then things work immediately. Selecting 'Set Com Port' and you wait 15s again.
    Seems to work. If you open Control Panel, and then find something inside called Control Panel (wt?) they you can get something called System if you select Classic View. Here you can find the connection it has allocated under Ports.
    (Can I reboot to Linux now and open a beer or two please...?)

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Rev2 Procyon Driver for Win7 x64
    By ElvenRanger in forum Procyon
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-03-2010, 04:20 PM
  2. Procyon Driver Installation
    By Charles M in forum Procyon
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 03-02-2009, 06:53 AM
  3. Procyon - USB+AS=Noise
    By CraigT in forum Procyon
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 05-03-2008, 10:50 PM
  4. Editor install problem
    By Gintaras in forum Procyon
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-02-2007, 07:06 AM
  5. Procyon XP driver
    By biosylum in forum Procyon
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-24-2007, 07:27 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •